

BADMINTON ASSOCIATION OF INDIA

(Affiliated to the Badminton World Federation and Badminton Asia Confederation)

PRESIDENT
DR. HIMANTA BISWA SARMA
Chief Minister
Government of Assam

himantabiswa@icloud.com

HONY, GEN. SECRETARY SANJAY MISHRA +91 9406010483 sanjaymishra682000@rediffmail.com HONY, TREASURER
ARUN LAKHANI

Date: 26/12/2022

BAI/GEN/SELECTION/2022-239

MINUTES OF SENIOR SELECTION COMMITTEE

The Senior Selection Committee Meeting was held on 25th December 2022 at 10.30am virtually over the Zoom to finalise the Guidelines for the Selection Trials for selecting the Indian Badminton team for the Badminton Asia Mixed Team Championships 2023. The following members of the Senior Selection Committee attended the meeting-

1- Mr Partho Ganguly - Ex-International Player, Member

2- Mr Pullela Gopichand - Chief National Coach, Ex-International Player, Member

3- Ms Mallika Baruah - Ex-International Player, Member
 4- Ms Manjusha Kanwar - Ex-International Player, Member

5- Mr Dwi Kristiawan - Foreign Coach, Member

6- Mr Sanjay Mishra - Convener

The Convener of the meeting Mr Sanjay Mishra welcomed the members and informed the members that the agenda of the meeting is to finalise the Guidelines for the Selection Trials for selecting the Indian Badminton team for the Badminton Asia Mixed Team Championships 2023 to be held in Dubai, UAE from 14-19 February 2023.

A) The members were also informed that the deadlines for submission are as follows:

- 1] Entry by Team 27th December 2022 (Tuesday)
- 2] Entry by Players Names 20th January 2023 (Friday)

B) The members were also informed that the Each Team shall nominate:

- Not less than four (4) players. (2 Men, 2 Women)
- Not more than Sixteen (16) players. (8 Men, 8 Women)

C) After the detailed deliberations the members of the BAI Sr. Selection Committee decided that the Indian Team shall comprise of-

- Men's Singles- Two Players [2]
- Women's Singles- Two Players [2]
- Men's Doubles- Two Pairs [4]
- Women's Doubles- Two Pairs [4]
- Mixed Doubles- One Pair [2]
- Total Players- 14



Phone: +91-11-41450524/5, Email: info@badmintonindia.org, Website: badmintonindia.org



BADMINTON ASSOCIATION OF INDIA

(Affiliated to the Badminton World Federation and Badminton Asia Confederation)

PRESIDENT
DR. HIMANTA BISWA SARMA
Chief Minister
Government of Assam

himantabiswa@icloud.com

HONY, GEN. SECRETARY SANJAY MISHRA +91 9406010483 sanjaymishra682000@rediffmail.com HONY, TREASURER
ARUN LAKHANI

D) After carefully going through the BWF Ranking of the players in each category, the Selection Committee members decided that the following players are directly selected based on their superior BWF Ranking-

- Men's Singles: Mr Lakshya Sen [7] & Mr HS Prannoy [9]
- Women's Singles: Ms PV Sindhu [6]
- Men's Doubles: Mr Satwiksairaj Ranikreddy & Mr Chirag Shetty [5]

E) The members unanimously agreed that since it is a big competition with limited number of entries, ONLY BWF rankings from 16-50 should be considered for inviting players for the trials for the rest of the available spots on following basis-

- 1. Invite 3 players / 3 pairs BEST PLACED in BWF Top- 16 to 50 for One remaining spot
- 2. Invite 4 players / 4 pairs BEST PLACED in BWF Top- 16 to 50 for Two remaining spot
- If there is NO CONFIRMATION from a player/pair to participate in the Selection Trials, the next best placed player in the BWF Top- 16 to 50 to be included in the trials. The last date to receive confirmation is <u>30th December 2022</u>.

As decided by the members of the Selection Committee based on the above criteria, the selection trails will be conducted for the following players to fill up the rest of the remaining spots in the team-

• Women's Singles (1 spot):

Ms Malvika Bansod [32] Ms Saina Nehwal [33] Ms Aakarshi Kashyap [35]

Men's Doubles (1 spot):

Mr MR Arjun / Dhruv Kapila [24] Mr Krishna Prasad Garga / Vishnuvardhan Goud P [35] Mr Ishaan Bhatnagar / Mr Sai Patheek K [44]

Women's Doubles (2 spots):

Ms Treesa Jolly & Ms Gayatri P Gopichand [18] Ms Sikki Reddy & Ms Ashwini Ponnappa [24] Ms Ashwini Bhatt & Ms Shikha Gautam [33] Ms Haritha Manazhiyil & Ms Ashna Roy [44]

Mixed Doubles (1 spot)

Mr Ishaan Bhatnagar / Ms Tanisha Crasto [21]

Mr Venkat Gaurav Prasad / Ms Juhi Dewangan [45]

Mr Rohan Kapoor / Ms Sikki Reddy (*Since there is no other pair in BWF Top-50, the pair is included based on its recent performance to fill up the third spot required to complete the selection trial group as mentioned in point E-1 above)



Phone: +91-11-41450524/5, Email: info@badmintonindia.org, Website: badmintonindia.org



BADMINTON ASSOCIATION OF INDIA

(Affiliated to the Badminton World Federation and Badminton Asia Confederation)

PRESIDENT
DR. HIMANTA BISWA SARMA
Chief Minister
Government of Assam

himantabiswa@icloud.com

HONY, GEN. SECRETARY SANJAY MISHRA +91 9406010483 sanjaymishra682000@rediffmail.com HONY. TREASURER

F) The committee members agreed that the selection trials should be conducted on the 2nd & 3rd January 2023 in Delhi.

Mr Vimal Kumar (Ex-International Player, Member) & Ms Jwala Gutta (Ex-International Player, Member) who attended the previous meetings could not attend the meeting due to unavoidable reasons. The meeting ended with Mr Sanjay Mishra, BAI Secy. General and convener, thanking the members for attending the meeting.

Signature of the Attendees-

(Mr Partho Ganguly) Member (Mr Pullela Gopichand) Member (Ms Manjusha Kanwar) Member

Mallika Bartiah Sarma Ex- International Player

> (Dwi Kristiawan) Foreign Coach, Member

> > (Sanjay Mishra) Convener

